SATURDAY VIEWS

Standard

Not sure what this sign was all about but it was stretched across the entire side of the building. There is a  mill-pond there but not sure if there is a dam there or not.    This bin was empty when we went inside the store. When we came back out well someone had really made a large donation.  Volunteers of America sets these bins around a lot here and they are helpful, but not sure how long the donations sit there before they are collected. Didn’t get the store address as it was out-of-town but hoping someone called them to come get it all. The weather, being so much more spring like now, more people are cleaning and sorting I guess. Glad they are donating instead of  just throwing things out.   

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

10 responses »

  1. I have noticed a lot of things like that as spring nears. Our church is in a very troubled neighborhood and now that the cold has moderated many more people are out and about…this can be a bad thing sometimes. I’m glad to see donations up for whatever the reason.

  2. If those donations aren’t picked up quickly then they will be gone through by passersby and sorted. I have seen the aftermath of something like that.

    The first sign surely has some hidden meaning. If you find out what it is please let us know.

    HUGS!!!

  3. I’ve things like this before and called them, but some times, some of them just didn’t care! One time I saw one looking like this one in your picture, with cloths and things all over the ground, so I stopped and looked inside of the box which was empty…. so I picked all I could and put into the medal box for protection from the weather. I know if I was ever homeless, I would rather have warm cloths and shoes than wet cloths and things to wear… some people only thing about themselves and pretend not to see the ones that are in need… sad! Any of us could be in their shoes tomorrow!

  4. Well that’s interesting, I wonder what it means. I hope it all got picked up but if someone did go through it and took some things I hope it’s because they needed them. I’ve heard of some people taking them and then selling them in garage sales. Hard to believe but it happens.
    Hope you have a great Sunday!

  5. There are a lot of people in your boat—having to move and get rid of stuff and not having time or the energy to sell it. It’s so sad what is being “thrown out” these days…I had a piano customer that picked one up as it was being taken to the curb with a Free sign on it and it was like new! What a deal! Glad to see it didn’t stay there long. Rain would have destroyed it. Max grows so much, we end up giving his too-small stuff to various 2nd hand stores. Good luck with your packing. Wish I could have been there to take some of that stuff off your hands.

  6. Dont understand the first sign but as for the donation bins , we have them here in Aussie too and they get raided quickly , we have roadside pick ups too and they are gone fast too , cant blame anybody cos if its out there and somebody picks it up its a sign someone needed it , just dont like people taking goods and selling them on ebay which is happening more these days

  7. Hi Carol,
    I like your new blog and I’ve down to enjoy all the posts I’ve missed. I was good to find you again. Somehow, as much as I like Facebookand seeing what my friends are doing, it doesn’t fill the spot that a good blog fills.
    About your Dad’s watch. I have an old Bulova gold watch from my grandfather, much like yours. Mine came from the 40’s and needed to be cleaned, but still ran perfectly. I found an old watchmaker in Mineral Point, WI on a visit to Dean’s family and he cleaned and restored it for a fair price. I had a beautiful brown lizard band put on it and I’m still wearing it today.
    Thanks for coming to my space.
    Betty

  8. Hello Carol … I too am glad to see people donating their unsed clothing, household goodies, etc. We have non-profit organizations that have these bins as well. We also have a variety of second hand stores that accept donations, sell the goods and then forward $$$ (minus operating costs) on to selected registered charites. Hey… shopping second hand is like a treasure hunt, it’s a win-win situation I guess for everyone.
    I am not sure about that sign either but it’s interesting.
    I trust that you are keeping well. Cheers to you.

  9. Yes, we have them here also Carol and I see that same sight often. My basement cleaning went well and I had lots to give to our local Goodwill. Still have quite a bit to do, but the major part is done…whew.
    Still looking for somewhere to live though. I am spoiled by owning our own home and have been a bit picky. Guess I’d better be a bit more flexible huh?
    Hope all is well…
    Deb

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

