TREASURES…

Standard

 

The things you find when you are going through the endless
boxes and drawers is just amazing. Yes..they are sometimes
special and sometimes shocking.I came across an old metal
trunk with 5 old quilts in it. I remembered them from days
gone by,but really had no idea mom had saved them.It was quite
a surprise. 

 

The large blue one had something that I thought was a dog on
it but when I looked closer, it resembled a donkey or horse.
I know my grandmother made it because it was pretty heavy.
Mom told her to make them heavier because it was so cold here.
The other quilts mom told us they were used in between the mattress
and the inner springs in the beds back in the 30’s.You can see some
damage to them,so they are really well-worn.

  

 

 These will be kept
in the family as keepsakes. In mom’s old sewing machine drawers
we found skeleton keys that went to our front door before the
new locks were put on. In our basement I looked under the pile
of old boxes and junk and found the drop leaf table that mom
and dad had in our home when they first moved in. Well worn doesn’t
really describe it,neglected and in need of TLC does.
I cleaned and sanded it and put on a spray coat of white paint. 
It looks like new!! The old chair I found also looked great
with a new shine.It was fun making them come alive again, ready
to be used everyday. People pay big bucks, they tell me, for antique drop-leaf tables if they are in good condition. Wish that mine had the original wood instead of being painted though. I will use it proudly as my parents did. The packing has settled down now, and the process of leaving the home place behind and moving on is upon me. I ‘ve had luck so far with many contacts with job offers so I hope to get busy once I get settled in a new place. I will pick up my flyers and business cards next week and start the expansion into another city to open up as many opportunities as possible. Time seems to be flying for me, Spring is trying so hard to come here and getting smacked back by the chilly air. We may just get one of the coolest May’s on record this year the weatherman said. Yes indeed..as long as there is NO SNOW involved I will be happy. I sold the snowblower and the lawnmower…. good riddance I will no longer be needing them!

HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND!!

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

12 responses »

  1. I hope THE BOSS doesn’t see this. She’ll commence mining operations in the mound of “good stuff” meaning Buddy and I will face possible entombment! If you think getting those Chilean miners out alive was a herculean task you have no idea how much junk Frankie can accumulate in 25 years

  2. It is amazing what a person can find going through the “archives”. I still remember when we did this with my grandparents on both sides…pretty astounding. I think it’s been a very cool March though maybe not record breaking…just the same I’m glad that we’ve moved ahead another month. It can’t be cold forever….at least I keep telling myself that!

  3. I found many things I had forgotten when I was cleaning out stuff getting ready to move. Some good and some not so good.
    I hope you get a job soon and things settle down for you.

    Hugs,
    Beth

  4. The quilts are beautiful! Love the style of the old ones that were made to use, not like today when they’re made to hang on the wall. Your table looks great too. Good job and good luck with things in the weeks to come.

  5. Well, this explains the pictures!!! Wow, what treasures. Looks like you photographed them to sell them on e-bay or bonanzle! Hope you do get that job thing straightened out soon. Have you thought of town-hopping to get out of the home-town area? Perhaps a real break from it will help to refresh things! Wish you could take time to come and visit us here, but understand all you have to do back there at this time. Enjoy this spring weather and keep doing what you’re doing!

    • Yes going out of town next week to network some and make connections there too. Not traveling much sticking close to home for awhile.

  6. The quilts are beautiful, and that table is great! I will be following your progress, wishing you well, and keeping you in my prayers every day.

  7. Those are quite the treasures that you have found indeed. You can put a price tag on many items but these hand made stitched-with-love quilts you cannot. I have a few that my mother made and one from my grandmother tucked away, one on my bed… it has such a coziness about it.
    Good luck during the days ahead, keep well.

  8. The quilts are gorgeous and what a nice surprise for you. You did a great job on the table, I wouldn’t mind having it myself if I had the room. Good luck on the job search and the big move. I wish nothing but the best for you sis!
    Hugs

    • Seth..most relaxation I get is eating popcorn and watching a nascar race..except the night races put me to sleep most times I miss the end.
      LOL

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

