STILL WORKING..

Standard

Several things I found lately that I never thought would ever work actually did. To my amazement an old Maytag wringer washer sat in the corner of our basement for 50 some years. When Sis and I plugged it in, it never hesitated.. started agitating right away. Good old Maytag..no wonder the service guy is never busy. I have a person who is interested in it, they are STILL being used by the Amish community  and they know how to fix them when they breakdown.

On our porch mom had stashed away her old stand mixer that she used a lot “back in the day” before we bought many portable mixers. When I cleaned it off and plugged it in..you  guessed it.. it worked just fine. Long ago appliances were built to work for a long time. Now, you can replace one almost every year if you find one on sale.

I decided to make banana bread with it and see how it worked.. Yummy.. the bread turned out great.

 

Well..hope you all are having a wonderful spring week, the ground is warmer and the grass is turning green, trees are budding and I am sneezing..all signs that spring is finally here.

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

11 responses »

  1. How nice to have those things work…and you put them to use right away! I figure this would be a great step in the right direction if things were made once again to last instead of being replaced all the time…dream on I suppose. It’s about 58 here so I’m pretty happy with that…I’d sure like it warmer but I guess good things come to those who wait. Have a good day my friend.

  2. You should post that on EBAY woman!!! At least look up what it might be worth and CRAIGSLIST it. Possibly consign it to an antique shop? I know you could use the money it might bring you!

  3. I still use my stand mixer that I’ve had for over 30 years now. It still works OK, just clutsy to set up—have to hide it away in a cupboard when not in use. It still gets a workout at Christmas, though. You’re right—back then, things were built to LAST. Have thought about getting a hand one, but can’t bring myself to putting out the bucks to do it with the old standby up in the cupboard. I’ve used washers like that one when I first went to Montana—they work great, but are hard on the clothes. Hope you find a good home for it!

  4. Bill and I use to have a wringer washer and boy I hated that thing. When it finally gave out I sent Bill out to buy a new washer. He came home and said he found one on sale because it had a dent by the wringers. I told him in no uncertain terms that I want and automatic not a wringer. After all I had 4 kids all under the age of 6 at the time. He said that they were delivering it Tuesday and I told him that they won’t get in the door with it lol. Needless to say I got my automatic. I still have my mom’s stand mixer too. I don’t use it much but I know it’s there if I want it.

  5. That’s really cool. But I didn’t thing the Amish used electric items. maybe they can get it to work without it. Just goes to show they don’t make things the way they used to.

  6. You have taken me back in time with that pic , kids today would not know what a wringer was , what about the old irons heated on the stove and then mum would sprinkle water on the clothes before ironing them , great memories and the beauty was in watching the care that mum or an aunty would take in ironing , all after being through the wringer.
    Ian

    • I remember the sprinkle bottle too before steam irons. Nothing like that smell of fresh ironed linens etc. Mom still had her first old ironing board..hard to part with stuff like that.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

