HOME SWEET HOME

Standard

Thought I should at least update once a month when I get time.. I truly miss my blogging time a lot. Journaling time has been cut too and that is just not good for me as I tend to forget a whole lot these days with so much going on.  Here is the picture of the house we used to own.

    

 NOW that I don’t LIVE there any more I can finally show you it and all its glory.  Three floors including the basement! Sixty years of STUFF! 
It is finally empty! Took a lot of time to do and lots of sweat and black and blue spots to prove it. Looks a lot better from a distance but I assure you up close you would see
all it’s problems. To the side is a large double driveway in dire need of sealcoating and a two car garage. YES, it was full of STUFF too. NO, I didn’t call it junk, because it had some very useful things in it.  Imagine trying to get all that stuff into a small house  or apt.. no way!! So many sales and donating had to occur to help out. Don’t ask me where things are right now.. I have NO IDEA.. put all urgent stuff in a shoe box and hope I don’t lose it. 
I find myself very tired these days and want to sleep a lot. WONDER WHY??? So so happy that it all is over though.no more lugging things around.

 I think it will take weeks to be able to walk through my small apt and not stumble upon some item that is in my path. This too shall pass, they say, and sometime soon I will feel settled in a new place.. can’t come fast enough for me!! I am anxious to get moving on new things and a new life.  : )  

 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

15 responses »

  1. It’s easy to let things slip on by I know. We have been without the Internet for three weeks while we were in Ireland and I could almost have let it all go…especially face book. We will be heading out of the country this fall too for a longer trip but I hope to stay on-line this time. God’s grace and strength to you my friend.

  2. I can sympathize, Carol. After my military years I swore I would never move again but I was single for the last 10 of those years and pretty much lived out of three wall lockers.

    When we moved here Frankie realized just how much of a pack rat she was while trying to sort through 20 years of accumulated “good stuff” and tackling the monumental task of deciding what to keep and what to bring with us. Moving from a 2400 square foot house to a 720 square foot mobile home meant she had to make a lot of tough decisions.

    • So true you just don’t know how much you truly have until you have to GET RID of it all. WOW.. it was so shocking to my Sis and I both.. I think we will be much better for it though. Wished Mom and I had done it years before though so I could tell what was really important to her so I could keep it! Too much stuff!! : )

  3. I understand completely! When Papa moved down here with me, we had to go thru over 50 years of stuff, and some of it was wonderful remembered treasures, but also exhausting and sad, too.

    You’ll get there. Get your rest, you deserve it!

  4. I know what you mean, Carol! I just finished going through years of stuff, mine and my mom’s. It’s backbreaking, heartbreaking, but also kind of special. Finding a glass my mom always used to use made me feel like I had found a priceless work of art. Using the glass makes me feel close to my mom. Hugs to you; hope you gets lots of good rest.

    • I found a ring we thought was lost in all the boxes and mom had thought she had thrown out in an old purse. We hunted for weeks for it and never found it until just the other day. Boy that was a hard day for me.. I really fell apart and wondered why we could not have found it sooner. Too many memories for sure!

  5. Beautiful big home Sis, and thank goodness all of that moving is over although I feel for you in all you had to get through in order to get to where you are now. But the end IS in sight.
    xox

    • Dee, now you are moved in time will be settled a new venture opening up for you, memories of Mom be all wrapped in your Heart. That day will come for me when I have to go through what all you did as I have lived here 42 years of many memories and stuff we collected, things he had built. Not ready as of yet, when it gets too much, I will know, but am having an auction on all his stuff in shop and some of my stuff, don’t feel the need as I did before, be 21 months. I wish you all the Best and Love with peace in your Heart.

  6. Certainly a big change for you and I see it will take a while for you to adjust , even from a distance that looks like a beautiful old home needing a bit of tender loving care
    Emu aka Ian

  7. Great pics of your house! Surprised you didn’t post a pic of the little place you moved into, just to show how small it was. But that was yesterday. Today is what is important…no worries. Now you can devote time to your search to begin a new life and begin to build it all over—just the way YOU want it. I’ll help any way I can, you know. Wish I could have helped you in this last monumental move. Sending only positive vibes to you this summer!!!!

  8. ────╔╗╔╗╔═╗╔╗╔╗╔══╗────
    ────║╚╝║║╚╣║║║║║╔╗║────
    ────║╔╗║║╔╣║╚╣╚╣╚╝║────
    ════╩╩╩╩╩═╩╩═╩═╩══╩════
    ::Seth waves:: Leaving you a quick greeting and hoping that you are enjoying a relaxing evening. I feel good… I am finally getting around to visiting everyone and sticking my nose into everyone’s business. Cheers to you… I will be back, don’t shut me out!

  9. You just need some time to find your way,
    you dont have to move to had a good spring clean, we are doing it now all the stuff that never get use is finding a new home with someone who will use it,
    Take care and look after your self
    Sue

  10. And the new adventure begins. That was a big house so I’m sure it will take time getting use to a small apartment now but knowing you you’ll do just fine!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

