LOST

Standard

Funny how we have special places in our homes where we keep things. We always know it is there when we need it. The brooms go one place and the buckets another and the pantry is so important. Remember mine? I had what was called aMichigan  pantry. Supplies for just about every need. The cabinet sold and a lot of the food given away. Some of it I would NEVER use up by myself. I used to know where things were. It sure plays tricks on you trying to remember which new place you put something. Guess I should have been more organized, but 60 years of stuff well that was a challenge.

After months of moving and lugging and sorting several things are still lost and probably will never surface again. I have always been a person who HATES it when I can’t find where I put something. I search until I find it again.It bugs me.  I misplaced a key to the local post office box. I hadn’t had the key but maybe a week or so. I was informed that they are charging $6.00 a key now to replace them. I kept wondering how long it will take when someone asks me where something is that my mind will go straight to where it was the last time I saw it. My standard answer  is..”I know where it was, but not where it is now!” In that big mess in the storage place..maybe.

Sis and I came across a gold and diamond ring that I gave my mom. She thought she lost it, threw it out in an old purse maybe. We searched the house over for it. Never found it until cleaning out the house. There, in the bottom of a drawer, inside a very small box, was the ring. 

This ring had a story. Mom wore it a lot until one day she was in the parking lot of the doctor’s office and she put her hand too close to the trunk lid and you can guess what happened. Down came the lid on her fingers and I nearly fainted. I screamed but Mom didn’t look too upset. The receptionist came running out of the building carrying one of those neat snap ice packs. Seems the ring band was so solid it held up beautifully and the finger was saved from being crushed. The doctor removed the ring and mom held the ice pack on her hand until we got home. The finger never even turned blue, just swollen some.  Mom retired the ring for a different one, saying she didn’t want to damage it again or lose some of the diamonds. We never saw it again. We all thought it was gone for good.  Sis and I found it several days before we left our old house. We had a good cry over it. I wondered why, oh why, we hadn’t found it with all that looking and before Mom had left us. My guess is that she led us right to it. We had several things happen in that old house that made both Sis and I stop and think. Those who cross over and are away are not always that far away. I will always feel they are right beside us all the time.  

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

14 responses »

  1. That is such an amazing story! I’m so glad you found that ring. I understand what you must feel to see that ring after the time that has past and the things have happened since you saw it last. That ring is precious in more then one way I’d say! Bless you my friend.

  2. I know just how you feel. I’m the same way. Other people always say, don’t worry, it will show up some day… lol. Not me, it has to be found RIGHT NOW! LOL……. I’m glad to hear about you finding your ring, and the other stuff….???? Oh well, life go’s on.
    Ed

  3. You are so right about about loved ones who have passed over leading us right to things! That’s happened to me more than once since Nana has passed… Even now, almost 12 later, she still does something that makes me notice and know full well that it was her that did the deed…

    I’m glad you found the ring. It is special to you and you will wear it, thinking of her while you do so.

    Hugs across the miles, friend. Take care of yourself!

  4. Don’t give up hope on finding stuff in your new place. I recently after a year here found my other camera and other iPod.

    Definitely your mom is with you girls, watching over you. I feel it so much.

    xoxoxxo Sis

    • SIS..know what you meant about missing your garage now.. already miss ours badly..last storm came through here all I could think of was the trees and how easy they could wipe it out with one limb falling. Scary!!

  5. *´¨)
    ¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨)
    (¸.•´ (¸.•` ¤ Don’t you just hate it when you are looking for something and you can’t find it, but when you stop looking for it ITS RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU! Well, I do. Uuugh!
    I love reading about your discoveries and fond memories of days gone by. Your mother’s ring could certainly be said to be a symbol of ‘true strength’, and I am not just talking about it’s mineral qualities but the fact that it was worn by a woman full of life who had a strength of her own. Glad you found a little piece of your mother… something to hold on to now that she has passed.

  6. *´¨)
    ¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨)
    (¸.•´ (¸.•` ¤ Of all the people we miss the most, our Mothers. The reason it hurts so much to be separated from them, is because our souls are connected.

  7. Great story Carol. It’s such a beautiful ring and hope that you’ll wear it everyday as a constant reminder of your mom.

  8. You’re so right! They ARE still with us, in more than just memories. Hey, that ring looks just like mine—except it has more diamonds—mine has only 5. I really LOVE my ring and rarely take it off. Glad you were able to find it again! You should wear it on your right hand to always remember your Mom is with you. ;}

    • Kinda hard Sue..she wore it before she lost all the weight and I think it was at least a 9 1/2 or 10. Way too big for me on any finger. The pic doesn’t show it too well but it has 10 small diamonds in it. Soooo happy we found it!

  9. I think you should wear it too. Take it to a jewelers and have it re-sized, it’s not that expensive to do. When my Mom passed away she had a solid gold band and a one carat diamond solitaire. Took me awhile to figure out what to do with the ring (since I had my own) but I knew I would wear it the same way she did. I had the diamond mounted into a pendent and I’ve been wearing it ever since. She passed away in 1980 so I’ve been wearing it a long time.

    I think your Mom would want her ring to be worn.

  10. *´¨)
    ¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨)
    (¸.•´ (¸.•` ¤ I have to tell you, I have a secret place in my home where I try and stash things of importance or put things so that I can find them later. This place is so secret that even I can’t recall where it is. Doh! I am sure that you know what I am talking about. You know? That place… where I’ll probably find my keys, a note with an important number on it, etc… uuugh! 🙂
    I hope that you are making the most of this weekend.

    • SETH..when you find… it look and see if my addressbook is stashed in there too. LOST it and having a time finding a disc that had backup info on it. Moving is so
      disorienting…I PROBABLY packed it in storage with the extra post office key. : -(

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

