POPCORN BALLS II

Standard

Awhile back I posted about how mom made popcorn balls long ago with molasses.I guess it depends on how much time you have or the taste that you like.  Now days we make them so much easier.  Popcorn balls so fast you will want to make many batches. 

Microwave a large size bag of popcorn. Let set while you do the next step.  Sometimes I do several bags so I know I have enough popcorn.

 Microwaving a bag of mini marshmallows in a large bowl with 6 Tablespoons of butter is pretty simple. Anyone who has made rice krispie treats knows this step. Melt them for about 2 minutes or until the mixture can be stirred and all the marshmallows are melted. (This is where I add food color..red and yellow make them orange).  Let it cool a little bit. 

Smear  butter on your hands or spray your hands with cooking spray and proceed to pour the popcorn into the large bowl. Stir it well and make into balls. This recipe will make at least 6 to 8 balls depending on the size. you can add candy corn, M&M’s, sprinkles or any candy you like to the sticky outside. Decorate them if you like. Wrap these in wax or plastic wrap.

In case you are wondering..here is the recipe for the

Molasses popcorn balls..      

 Directions 
  Use large bag of microwave popcorn,( you may need more than one  bag.)
 
  1. In 2 quart saucepan, melt 1 tablespoon butter. Stir in 1 cup sugar, 1 cup molasses, and 1/2 tsp salt. Insert a candy thermometer in saucepan and boil sugar mixture on medium heat until the thermometer reads 260 degrees F(126 degrees C).
  2. Pour syrup over corn, while stirring  popcorn thoroughly. Butter hands lightly. Shape popcorn into 12 to 14 balls. Wrap in wax paper or plastic wrap.

ENJOY!!!

 

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

4 responses »

  1. I like popcorn one kernel at a time. Never cared for sticky popcorn balls. I know big surprise. A sweet treat I don’t like. 🙂

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

