THANKSGIVING 2011

Standard
Hope this holiday comes with many memories for you all.
Family gatherings often bring up memories of the past.
 
A memorable Thanksgiving  for me was when I lived in
Ca. The family was gathering. It was a first for me, as I had
just moved to Ca. from Michigan. I had never seen some of
the relatives, nor they me. It was like being a stranger, only
not. They were all polite and friendly and caring. It was
truly an eye-opening day. So many people and so many
conversations that you really had no idea what or who
they were talking about. I remember so much food, so many
dishes and such a large bird. It took up the entire built-in
oven and had been cooking practically all night long. 
A whole table full of desserts of all kinds and a room full
of chairs and tables and people who sat any place they could
find a seat. So much noise, everyone talking at once it seemed.
Kids.. kids running all over and playing in the yard. It was nice out,
the sun was shining and the air was actually warm to me. So different
from the cold snowy days in Michigan in November. It was great
to sit back and observe everyone and the real “family” dynamic.
      
Up until then I had spent all my Thanksgiving dinners around a table
with only my parents and my sister and brother. NO kids, no relatives,
as the closest ones were over 500 miles away. It was almost always cold
and or snowy and quiet, as after lunch we would take a nap. Dad was not
into sports and we didn’t watch much tv. California was totally opposite.
 This gathering was normal for them, but not for me.
It was special for me, like a family reunion.
Learning names and who went with who, I wished I had name tags as
they got all jumbled up in my head. My grandmother, who I had not been
around any in my life, took me aside and reassured me ..”don’t you worry
none, you ‘ll get used to them all.” I have to say I did, but it took a long time.
Grandma is gone now and so are many of the aunts,uncles, and cousins that brought
the whole clan together. Today they go off to separate places and don’t really
gather like they used to in the “old days”.
For some, the “gathering” for dinner at a relatives is normal.
For me it will be a memory that I will never forget. 
 
This year, without mom around,  it will be another one for me that will
bring back memories of the past. Steamed up windows in the kitchen
from all that baking and cooking. Turkey baking in the oven and homemade
cranberry sauce on the stove. Mom’s candied sweet potatoes and cornbread
stuffing from scratch. YUM!   Miss you Mom!
 
HOPE WHEREVER YOU ARE..
 YOU HAVE A SAFE AND GREAT THANKSGIVING!!
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

4 responses »

  1. Thanksgiving memories and always special when they involve all the family together. Keep them dear and in your mind this holiday season—they will keep you smiling. I feel especially lucky this year to have both boys with us for this holiday (and hopefully for Christmas too!). It’s been a while since we’ve been able to do this. Cook yourself a nice dinner and be blessed knowing you have so many friends that care and so many wonderful memories of years past. I’ll certainly be thinking of you this year!!!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

