OLD REMEDIES…HOREHOUND Vs. SASSAFRAS?

Standard

WHAT?? Who cares about that?  WHAT is it??? Well maybe  ..but I like the products so here is my review of them. They seem to help me out some!!

Mom liked horehound candy. It’s a herbal tea made into candy. The drops are sweet and they sooth your throat. The drops, however, were, and are sometimes hard to find. I had been hunting around for them for quite a while. When I stopped hunting, you guessed it, they showed up everywhere. Most throat drops now have menthol in them, I hate that strong stuff. Anyway these drops are great tasting. It’s a blend of herbal tea with sweetener that is cooked in a copper kettle until it makes candy.

Now Sassafras is different.  It tastes similar to  root beer and can be used for many medical uses. Long ago when I was about 10 or 12 my dad boiled some sassafras bark while we were in Tennessee visiting my grandparents. They  made me drink the brew. Lo and behold I felt a lot better after drinking the tea. Those were the days when these drops were not  widely available to us.Down in the south, Dad told us that there were old remedies that they used to help the sick. He swore that this sassafras stuff would cure or help my asthma. Well it DID!! I was shocked and with sugar in the tea I drank that stuff for quite a while. It soothed me so, I knew there had to be something about it. Here is what the package looks like nowadays..  These can be purchased at Bulk Food Stores, Michael’s stores and many other drug and grocery stores. They are not really expensive for the amount you get in a package either.  Don’t worry they have other flavors, lemon, watermelon, cherry, root beer etc.. they all taste great!! Check them out when you see them on a shelf somewhere along the way.

HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A “SUPER” WEEKEND!!

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

6 responses »

  1. Heaven know what my finger hit on this handheld whe trying to rate the blog. It happened before I could stop and read the ratings. So pay no attention Sis.

    Good info here.

  2. Can’t handle anything licorice or anise flavor—which is what horehound is. But haven’t tried the sassafras one. Have heard it tastes like root beer. I know licorice is good for stomach problems and sometimes I can drink a tea with it in it, if it doesn’t taste too much. But, hey, if it helps your allergies, go for it! There is a lot to be said for those old remedies! People are re-discovering them all over again. Enjoy your weekend!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

