HAPPY LEAP DAY!!

Standard

Well it only happens every FOUR years so I guess we can be happy about that, unless today is your birthday. I can’t imagine having one today and trying to have my birthday on the 28th or March 1st on the other years. It must seem weird.  Did you know it goes all the way back to JULIUS CEASAR’S day 2000 years ago? I guess I never looked it up before or even cared about it. It just was one extra day every 4 years. WHY not every year is the real question in my mind?   Here is the history.. (if you care)

  The Romans originally had a 355-day calendar.  To keep up with the seasons, an extra 22 or 23-day month was inserted every second year.  For reasons unknown, this extra month was only observed now and then.  By Julius Caesar’s time, the seasons no longer occurred at the same calendar periods as history had shown.  To correct this, Caesar eliminated the extra month and added one or two extra days to the end of various months (his month included, which was Quintilis, later renamed Julius we know it as July).  This extended the calendar to 365 days.  Also intended was an extra calendar day every fourth year (following the 28th day of Februarius).  However, after Caesar’s death in 44 B.C., the calendars were written with an extra day every 3 years instead of every 4 until corrected in 8 A.D.  So again, the calendar drifted away from the seasons.  By 1582, Pope Gregory XIII recognized that Easter would eventually become closer and closer to Christmas.  The calendar was reformed so that a leap day would occur in any year that is divisible by 4 but not divisible by 100 except when the year is divisible by 400.  Thus 1600 and 2000, although century marks, have a Leap Day.    

 NO WONDER I DIDN’T CARE!!  EASTER close to Christmas.. yikes..well that would have been really weird.  So today you LEAP… You forget your diet, you forget your chores, you forget whatever you want because it won’t come again for 4 years. Celebrate and do some great things..things that make you feel like LEAPING!  HAVE FUN!

 

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

5 responses »

  1. Don’s sister, Dorothy, was born on a Leap Year day. I believe she is still alive, but no sure, as we don’t keep in touch anymore. I understand from Sean that she is in a nursing home in Hamilton, but I don’t know which one. She was about 10 years younger than my Mom. She was also one of the first people to hold Sean when he was born. Wouldn’t want to have my birthday on Leap Year day, though. Interesting history!

  2. Interesting, I did think about searching the history of the leap year and now I don’t have too. Thank you for doing it for me. How ya doing? I hope things are getting better for you. Take care now and have a good weekend.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

