Daily Archives: March 29, 2012

THIS OLE HOUSE..

Standard

THIS ole house is over 125 years old. Our family owned it for over 60 of those years. When Mom died the house was way to much for me to upkeep so it went back to the bank to sell to someone else. WE heard a nice young fella wanted the house and was going to buy it BUT..he found out that there was major things that needed to be fixed. So we thought the guy backed out of the sale.  I was sad in a way that the house would just sit there and be a loss, maybe even be torn down. NOT SO!! This is the ole house as of this week..   The bushes and trees have been taken down and the same fella has been working around the house. He has talked to neighbors about roof repair and perhaps some paint and siding. All things greatly needed.It looks similar to when my folks first bought it, without the bushes and trees.  Perhaps this ole house may get some new life after all.  SO why enter a post about an old house?  In the picture above this paragraph you will see the porch area. As I drove by I almost ran into the curb. I stopped  the car and just stared. There sitting on the porch was a shiny black lawn chair. Not just any lawn chair.. a black shell-back one.

(examples here)  We had one that I painted many times over. Mom and Dad’s first set of chairs for that porch were metal shell-back chairs exactly like that. They still had them when we had our sale. I sold them both. Seeing that very color and kind of chair on the porch made me breathless.  Was it a sign that things will be well with the ole house? I am thinking it was. BEYOND that.. was another chair a plastic white one. Many people have those chairs. WHITE is the color of the chairs we had also and they looked just like the one on the porch. I asked my sister if we left those chairs in the basement and she assured me that we sold them..she was there when I sold them. Sis drove by the house herself and was shocked to see the chairs on the porch. What are the  odds that those two kinds of chairs are on that porch again?? A million to one?? Who know? Now before you ask..NO the fella did not buy the chairs. We KNOW who we sold them to and they still have them. So..we now wonder what other neat things will occur. Will the fella paint or side the house the same color as it was? Will the roof that needs replacing be the same too? Will wonders never cease. I like to think that Mom and Dad are influencing that fella to restore it back to the way it was a long time ago. THAT truly would be amazing!!

THE OLE HOUSE is gonna get a makeover I am thinking and I can’t wait to see the results. Will let you all know how it looks as it progresses.

HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND!!

