CAKE OR COOKIE??

Standard

Following my last post..if you had ONLY ONE choice..could only have  O N E  ..would you choose cake or a cookie for your sweet treat? Remember you can’t choose candy.  Hands down, I would choose COOKIE..who needs a whole cake? Some choose their favorite cake like Devil’s food or Lemon but why not have Chocolate Chip FOREVER?? Nothing beats that taste I am thinking. I admit in the past I have even eaten raw cookie dough, but not anymore. Don’t exactly know WHY chocolate chip is sooo incredibly good to so many. Who invented them NESTLE? Why did they call them Toll house? HERE is what I found out..

 Ruth Graves Wakefield graduated from the Framingham State Normal School Department of Household Arts in 1924. She worked as a dietitian and lectured on food, until, together with her husband she bought a tourist lodge named the Toll House Inn.

Ruth Wakefield prepared the recipes for the meals served to the guests at the Toll House Inn and gained local notoriety for her deserts. One of her favorite recipes was for Butter Drop Do cookies. The recipe called for the use of baker’s chocolate and one day Ruth found herself without the needed ingredient. She substituted a semi-sweet chocolate bar cut up into bits. However, unlike the baker’s chocolate the chopped up chocolate bar did not melt completely, the small pieces only softened.”  YUM!!

  Three guesses who gave her the chocolate bar. YEP.. it was none other than Andrew Nestle. When the recipe became famous and the sale of his chocolate chips went up he struck a deal with Ruth to publish the recipe on the bag of his chocolate chips. Poor Ruth is not well known but Nestle is. At least the TOLL HOUSE name is still on every bag of chips and every product. The original recipe calls for NUTS but with so many allergies it is now optional.

The Toll House Inn burned down in 1984 and was not rebuilt, here is Ruth.. a very pretty lady. What did she get from her famous recipe? A lifetime supply of chocolate chips! Ruth passed away in 1977  at the age of 73.


About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

5 responses »

  1. I enjoyed learning about chocolate chip cookie and the origin. My favorite cookie is homemade oatmeal raisin but I love angel food cake with fluffy frosting. Or Italian cream cake and I could go on and on!! xoxoxo

  2. One big fat chocolate chip cookie! I also love white cake with white frosting. You can buy single pieces of cake around these parts, and that works for me 🙂

  3. Cake…tho I love CC cookies. Cake if there was a one or the other decision. Loved the history you provided. xox

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

