A TUMBLE AND CHANGE..

Standard

By now most of you know I had a little tumble and fall accident this past week. I am still recovering from it, funny how something small can change your whole life.

    Talk about ..    

THE ROAD NOT TAKEN

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth
Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I marked the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference. 

Robert Frost
 I recently had a chance to change things up some and maybe take myself in a new direction. I was going to try to take a chance anyway. Then I fell, and when I did,  I saw stars..well at least I think that’s what they were. That pain was something I hadn’t ever  felt before. I have fallen many time in my life, but  I immediately thought..OH now you have really broken it!  No, the kneecap wasn’t broken but the whole thing is bruised and I was LUCKY!! So lucky. It made me take note of what limitations I have at this time of my life. So some plans had to change and I am left to sit around  healing up and trying to keep a positive spin on things.
 First time I had driven around in the car was yesterday. I was very careful for sure. Nothing like tweaking that thing over again, especially when you are away from home. Wearing a velcro elastic brace on it just to keep it in line. Trip to the store was even longer than I expected. Had forgotten how long and tired a trip it can be for someone who is disabled,  I felt pretty give out by the time I got home. I just have to take it easy for a while. I find climbing steps a real challenge but I know it will be better day by day.  One step at a time. 
 I still cannot believe Memorial day weekend is coming soon.. I hope you all have a safe and happy one.
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

5 responses »

  1. Sis, I hear ya talking. Think of me last June, July, August before I could even get the cast off and start rehab and having to hire people to shampoo my hair..clean the house..cook, open cans for me, drive me places..so I am totally feeling it for you. Wish I could help.

    You learn in a hurry what its like to be humble and you learn to appreciate what you have and never EVER take anything for granted. A blink of an eye and everything can change.

    Take care Sis..love you bunches.

  2. Having to shuffle like Tim Conway’s old man character because of my horribly injured legs and the infection that set in..having to be forced to use those elecrtic things in stores to get around…embarrassing! But thank goodness for them. xoxox

  3. Everything happens for a reason—but it makes one wonder, doesn’t it…Hope you’ll heal soon and fortune will smile on you for the choices you made! Enjoy the warm weather and the outside as much as possible!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

