JULY UPDATE

Standard

Good Grief..July is flying by. Summer this year is really been a “stinker” as my auntie used to say. If it isn’t too hot one  place, it is too rainy or dry in another. On a recent trip I was astonished to see how people had mowed their lawns and it looked like they died right after they mowed it. Some residents in the country had plowed up portions of their yards alongside the road so that  there was less fire danger.

The corn..pitiful looking. I think, around here, that crop is a big loss unless you were lucky enough to have a way to irrigate it. The cherry  crop is almost a total loss at only 3% left. Well that’s areal downer so I will move on.Remember my encounter with the Poison ivy? I covered the plant it was in and poured vinegar all over it and it seems to have worked. The horrible heat at almost 100 degrees some days helped it along I guess.

Remember awhile back all I could do was pack up and put things in storage. Well, now I am getting rid of things as fast as I can. Spent many an early morning out there in the cool of the day, boxing up and sorting. 60 Years we lived in our home and so that is a whole lot to go through. Donated a lot of stuff and throw out others things. It is a hard task that only I can do. And so it goes on. I came across a cart that I thought was gone forever.  Sure remember carrying a lot of goods to the flea markets and such with it. My girlfriend and I carried a whole box spring and mattress on it..wasn’t easy but we did it. Sturdy thing..I will have a special place for it. The rocker has been in  our family for years..I tried to sell it, but no takers. Antique, YES and the seat re-done from cane. Maybe that is why people don’t want it I have no idea. Not sure what I will do with it. So many photos and mementos of years gone by.We have no idea what we hang onto. Found..shoes I was looking for. Those rocker shoes that were popular and now they don’t make much anymore.I bought many pair on sale.  If you can find them they are expensive. Problem is, they work for me GREAT and I love them. So happy to find them.  You all come over and I will be glad to GIVE YOU whatever you fancy. 🙂  On a recent outing I saw where the local city government had elected to paint the county courthouse RED. Yep.. it’s a beauty.. reminds me of the buildings down south. All brick and majestic looking. Around back is a new ramp so it will be handicap accessible. I sure wouldn’t mind being in the basement during a tornado warning..I think that building would hold its ground very well. 

I went to Walmart recently and cracked up laughing right out loud. Here in the aisle was this display.. Handsets for your CELL PHONE or IPAD… WHAT??? Why in the world would they be selling these?? The display was FULL.. I guess they are not selling very well.. I mean wouldn’t that take up a lot of space in your pocket or purse?? 😉  

WELL ENOUGH small talk..hope this summer is okay for you. It is not so good for so many I know. Prayers of healing for Toodie and her husband who both have had falls and are recovering.     STAY COOL OUT THERE IN BLOGLAND.. Blessings to you all!! 

 

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

5 responses »

  1. We finally got some warm weather here in Seattle; today it’s cooler and wet (which I love, actually). Great post, Carol; be well my friend, and stay cool!

  2. And here..humid enough to water the corn crop it almost feels like.

    SO glad to hear from you even by blog and I wish I could look thru what you have there. I love old things.

    The poison ivy will be back unless you get some poison ivy killer, liquid and pour it at the roots. 😦

    xoxoxox

    Sis

  3. Sounds like you guys need some real rain. None expected here either, but we’re used to it. We do irrigate, so our garden is doing OK. Hope you get all your stuff to good homes soon and can relax in this heat. It’ll be winter before we know it!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

