WATCHING CLOUDS…

Standard

watching-the-clouds

Remembering when I used to be small and lay on my back
in the yard and watch the clouds go by and try to find
what pictures they made in the sky. Those were innocent times
when we didn’t have the worries that kids have today.
We could ride our bikes and be gone half of the day
and still come home for supper without a parent having
to worry about us getting kidnapped or worse. 
 
I still love to look at the way the clouds form and
the sunsets and sunrises that God paints in the sky.
A wise old woman in her 90′s once told me that
GOD’S paintings were magical and if I saw a picture in
the clouds it was good luck for me. That was years ago, and
I still believe it…somehow..Smile 
 
I have taken pictures since I could hold a camera steady..
My first real camera was a Kodak 110 instamatic with those cubes for
flashbulbs. Mom owned a Brownie Starflex camera and I hated to
use it as it require a lot of winding and special bulbs for flash.
camera
Remember those?? Thinking
Taking pictures of sunsets and clouds were much more fun with color film.
One of my many jobs at home is to close the  windows on
the porch at night, and sometimes I go out and just watch
the sunset and see what forms in the sky.
100_8680
The most beautiful clouds I ever saw, I think, were the first time
I saw them from a 707 American Airliner flying to California
I was 15 years old. I was amazed and just awestruck over
how light and fluffy they hung in the sky and how we could
fly through and over them so easily.
clouds2
The white pillows of clouds were like a giant white down comforter spread out
for miles and miles below us. It is something that you will always
remember when you first experience it. 
There are storm clouds,wall clouds and clouds that roll
and churn in the sky just before a twister comes down.
I have seen all those.. but the clouds that form that are
white and fluffy on a blue sky background, those are the most
enjoyable to me.
THIS  WAS ORIGINALLY POSTED ON MY MSN SPACES BLOG..
RE-POSTED HERE FOR MY AUNT..HAPPY 89TH BIRTHDAY!!
********************************************************************************************
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT WEEK AHEAD!   
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

4 responses »

  1. I used to love to watch the clouds as I rode in the back seat of our car. Like you, when I was a kid I would play in the neighborhood all day, and my parents did not worry! Nice post, Carol.

  2. Clouds are so cool! We still point to them and exclaim—oooh, that one looks like a dinosaur! I think I remember this post you made so long ago. And YES, I do remember those flash “cubes” for the old cameras! Ah, those were the days…

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

