I GOT A CRAVING…

Standard

We all have them from time to time. Smoking , drinking,
sweets, drugs, eating.. you name it we have them. What makes it hard is how to kick the habit or the pull they have on us. Walking into a bakery or even by one will set me off big time.

The smell of Fresh Bread is one of my biggest craves.. I can hardly resist a piece of hot steamy, soft, fresh baked bread. Loaves or rolls.. they both will make me crave them.I love to bake but haven’t done that in awhile. If you can’t eat it .. don’t bake it is my motto now. I do bake and take a bite and give the rest away especially at Christmas time.Every once in a while I will get the craving for a certain candy or fruit I haven’t had in a long time. I usually just get it and then the craving goes away. Not so easy with some things though.
Back in the 60′s and 70′s I could not function without my daily caffeine rush. I craved Pepsi and still prefer it to this day. I don’t drink it unless it is diet and caffeine free though.I tried to cut back as soda is just not good for you. ( yeah I still drink it now and then.) It wasn’t easy and I did it gradually, but I got used to NOT having the headaches and shakes from the caffeine and I liked 
it. Doctor’s then told me that a little caffeine was good for my asthma. GOOD?I couldn’t believe it. Oh yes.. people could drink a cup of coffee and it help their breathing. Well, so glad I didn’t like the taste of coffee.( Yes, I bloggedbefore about how I love the smell of the coffee..but don’t like the taste.) It is true that what we can’t or are not suppose to have will make us crave it more. What got me to thinking about this topic was I had a craving for salty foods. I was craving potato chips. Something I hadn’t had in a long time.  I bought the smallest snack bag I could find and ate the whole thing. The craving ended right there, so I know now that if I deprive myself of something it will just make me crazy until I break it and get it out of my system.

DO YOU HAVE PARTICULAR CRAVINGS?  How do or did you get rid of it? Hope you have more luck than me getting away from them. 

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

5 responses »

  1. I do crave chocolate from time to time and sugar stuff too. But if I don’t BUY it, I won’t be tempted to eat it. I can crave ice cream too, but since that’s always in the house (for the boys) I can stay away from it pretty much. I do love my morning coffee (half decaf) but when I can’t have it, I really don’t CRAVE it. My latest craving is for Sportea. I’ve found if we don’t have any in the house, it drives me crazy. The great thing about that is there is no caffeine or sugar! Just herbs! No calories either. YEAH!

  2. I love my diet, caffeine free diet coke. I don’t drink it as often as I used to (every day), but some days I just can’t say no. I also love fresh baked bread (topped with a bit of butter, of course).

  3. I crave really strongly carbonated diet coke. I wanna burn my throat out when I firt gt up. Ahhhh. Southern habit. For food, it’s candy which i try to avoid as I am not trustworthy around it. And I like what Beth likes. Xx

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

