LABOR DAY and MORE…

Standard

For some people it is a LABOR DAY..they work. They don’t see any difference in it being a “holiday”. Kids know school starts the next day around here. They are trying to get every single minute out of their last few free days off from the summer. It’s nice to honor those who are the backbone of our country.  Traditionally this weekend was always the one where MDA had their Jerry Lewis telethon. They still have a telethon but with not nearly the hoopla it once had because they fired Jerry Lewis from being its spokesman. Never was known WHY for sure but here it is “the” weekend for it and I haven’t heard a word about it. Sad. No picnics here or even a BBQ..going light this year and eating healthy for a change. [Yeah it might change before the end of the weekend..I will be sure to let you know. ;-)]

Here in town, gas went up to $4.09, very disgusted citizens are happy to drive elsewhere to buy it at least 5 cents cheaper. A gallon of milk of any kind was sitting just about $3.00 a gallon too. No sales in this area. Biggest happenings are the old old mayor is running for city council. He tried to run for mayor again and was voted out by a landslide so now he is trying again to run as a member. I have a feeling he won’t win that seat either. I have my vibes about Labor Day weekend and have for years..nothing that good ever happens to me around this time of year. So far, I am waiting to see. I did get stuck..I posted about it  HERE  ,it was quite weird to say the least. 

If you follow my posts on FB you will see a lot of references to a show on A&E Tv called DUCK DYNASTY.. I thought what a stupid show.. and passed it by. Then I watched just 3o minutes of it, out of lack of anything else to watch. I have never laughed so much. Whether parts are scripted or not..(they say they are not), I don’t care. It makes me laugh. In doing research I found out that the patriarch  of the family is a very well educated man with a masters degree and who was a teacher for a time. He raised college educated sons and they really do “know” what they are talking about. How else could a family become millionaires making DUCK calls??? So why act so crazy?? It’s funny and some say it’s a southern REDNECK way of life. However you see it..it is funny to watch and I love laughing at it. 

Well whatever makes you laugh and makes you happy.. I hope you are doing it this weekend. The weather here is holding pretty well and we just may have a nice one after all. 

HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A SAFE AND HAPPY LABOR DAY WEEKEND!

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

3 responses »

  1. It just isn’t Labor Day without Jerry Lewis and the telethon. I didn’t realize he’d been fired—thought he just retired last year. Too bad—it made my Labor Day to watch all those great stars on the telethon and know they were raising money for a wonderful cause. Yes, I hate going anywhere on Labor Day, but we’re headed for the beach on Sunday. Monday we’ll stay home and rest. Tuesday, Max goes back to school. Hope things go smoothly for you this weekend!!!

  2. I wouldn’t dream of calling anyone a name who’s made a fortune talking about ducks! Ha! This family is smarter than I am 🙂

  3. I never watched the telethon and I haven’t heard our local station mention anything about it this year. There really isn’t much to watch on TV. I will be glad when the fall shows are on.
    Have a great weekend Sis, xoxox

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

