NOT YOUR GOODWILL ANY MORE…

Standard

Yesterday I went to our nearest Goodwill store.  I haven’t been in there in a couple of months. I like to browse the dishware and such and see what others have donated. I got out of the car and this is what I saw.. DSCN8506 a beautiful display of cards worthy of a Hallmark store just inside the doorway. Brand new displays very clean and organized and labeled. DSCN8503 I wondered where I was at for a moment. 

The farther I walked in the more surprised I got DSCN8502 Two aisles were brand new merchandise like found in a dollar store, not donated items. Money to be made here. They moved all the clothing to the back and side of the store in order for all these new items to be placed. As I wandered around I found more and more NEW items for sale. WHAT?? Where were the donated items we are used to seeing? I was pretty shocked. The sign outside said “GOODWILL” but what I saw inside sure didn’t look like it.  So at least 45-50 percent of the store was now new items. DSCN8507 What items were people mostly looking at? The USED items and the clothing..NOT the cards and NEW things for sale. There is a dollar store only steps away for those items. DSCN8501   I will say their displays are nice but really, do we have to have so many new things?? DSCN85051

I am one who doesn’t like changes much at all, but in my opinion these new changes might just lose them some business in the long run. People now have very limited incomes and they have to make the money count. If this is a new trend..sorry I sure don’t care for it. Wondering how other towns stores are now and if they all will end up this way?  

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

3 responses »

  1. You know I haven’t been inside our Goodwill store for awhile. I have donated a lot to them since I have moved here. I go through the drive through. I guess i will have to go inside and take a look.

    Hugs for you Sis!! xoxo

  2. Amazing! I guess more and more people are buying at the 2nd hand stores because of the prices of USED stuff, they probably think people will come in and be willing to spend there too. I don’t see it happening these days. Used stuff if big business now!

  3. Sis, all of your post notifications went to my SOAM. I went thru and rescued most of them and some other bloggers stuff. thank goodness I looked.

    I do NOT like Goodwill changing in that way.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

