HAPPY ST PATRICK’S DAY

Standard

 

                                 img210/8828/happystpat38tj.gif
 SO how do you fix your St. Patrick’s day meal.???
Is it a long
drawn out ordeal of brinning the meat or boiling or baking the meat. SPICED OR NOT SPICED?  I used to like the spiced meat..but have gotten used to the un-spiced now.  I was shocked to hear from a neighbor that she no longer makes her dinners that she made for 50 years, because the meat is too tough for them to eat..That was so sad to hear. I told her that there are so many ways to fix the dinner. She could not believe that someone boiled the meat. She never had made it that way.
She was baking the meat in the oven and that made it really tough to chew…My mother was  born in the south and her mother always boiled the meat and made a boiled dinner out of it.42-16023650 - Corned Beef with Cabbage, Leeks, and CarrotsThat meat falls apart and loses some of the salt in the water and by adding the cabbage and potatoes it loses more salt…. or does it??  THIS IS THE QUESTION…Does it really lose the salt or is it still there? I say it is there… but not as bad as if the whole thing were baked, with some glaze on it.Whatever you make for your holiday meal..I am sure it will be yummy!!
Here is my recipe for what our local store calls IRISH FLUFF, but there are other names for it too. This is a really sweet dessert you might like to try..

INGREDIENTS
1 (20 ounce) can crushed pineapple, drained
1 (3 ounce) package instant pistachio pudding mix
1 (8 ounce) container frozen whipped topping, thawed
1/2 (10.5 ounce) package miniature marshmallows
DIRECTIONS
In a large bowl, combine the pineapple and dry pistachio pudding mix. Fold in thawed whipped topping and marshmallows until well mixed. Refrigerate until chilled and serve.

 HOPE YOUR WEEKEND IS FULL OF IRISH GOOD LUCK WISHES..

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

3 responses »

  1. Due to extreme working times for too many years I fell out of the habit of making special dinners except for Christmas and Thanksgiving. Spiced meat was never a favorite though, I have to say. I am a very plain food person.
    Xox

  2. Since I’m not Irish, I’ve never made the Corned Beef and Cabbage dinner. However we eat lots of cabbage—and not corned beef. Never liked it much anyway. However, your whip sounds great—may give it a try.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

