MERRY CHRISTMAS

Standard

Posting here on a very unusual day 12-13-14.. won’t see this again for 89 years. Many are getting married today to have a special wedding anniversary. I noted here before that I had put up a tree in my new place, but the longer I looked at it, it was just too small for my living room. I set out looking for something larger. I went to my favorite place first..GOODWILL. Yes indeed they had at least two large 7 foot trees inside the boxes and they had lights on them. That was just way too large for me, so I kept on trying. I found a strange smaller tree that I bought.  It looked like something from a store display. It had felt Elves all over it. I added some lights and the tree kept tipping over. Frustrating trying to keep it upright, I took the two elves off the sides and it finally stayed upright. I noticed that the back of the tree was mostly FLAT and there were very few branches back on it. Darn! I bought a small lamp and it did not work so I had to go back to the store to return it. After my lunch, I went back to the store, about an hour or so had passed. In that time ANOTHER tree had been brought from the back of the store. I was so surprised.DSCN6728

This tree had a trunk that looked like a real wood, but was it??? It stood about 6 foot high.

DSCN6720

Such a real “Charlie Brown” kinda tree, I grabbed it quick and brought it home. Research told me that this was like a PONDEROSA PINE. Reminded me of my many trips to the mountains when I lived in California years ago. I decorated it with ornaments from our local dollar store, sadly I have very few ornaments from our trees from childhood.The angel was on top of a small tree that mom put on our old tree. It’s a work in progress for me because I am one who constantly will re do a tree for a week or two until I get it right. Sooo here it is. The elves from the other tree are hugging the trunk.

DSCN6745

 

merrychristmas

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

3 responses »

  1. Like the elves hugging the trunk—it fills out the whole scene better. It’s a sweet tree and will be fun for you to decorate, now that you have your own place. There will be great deals on decorations after Christmas and you can always do some garage sales (where there are always tons of decorations for almost no $$$) next summer. Enjoy! Oh and MERRY CHRISTMAS!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

