THE WHEELS ON THE BUS….

Standard

YES I am a senior who rides the bus. I like it. I see the whole city sometimes before I get to my destination. I think of it as an adventure. I never get the same bus or driver twice. I see all sorts of people. Living in a new town it is nice to meet others.

Dialaride

I overheard a conversation on the bus between two very elderly women that made me sad though. One was going to a store to buy something for a woman who had been place in a nursing facility. She said her room was so WHITE and needed color. She wanted to cheer her up. She had a cart with wheels on it similar to the one I had with me. The other woman told her to be careful because the workers in the store will hassle you with a cart, thinking you might be stealing something. It had happened to her. It occurred to me then, all the looks I got going into a store with a cart, even one that was folded down with nothing in it. I have had those looks. If you have no ride you have to carry every item you buy with you until you ride the bus again. Sometimes it can be quite a lot of bags. I have learned to ask about leaving my cart up at the front of the store. Most employees are fine with that, if it is not too loaded and there is room. It helps me not keeping track of everything while I shop too.  It’s an all new world out there learning about how to do things differently and how others deal with problems.  On the way home, my cart was loaded and the driver put it and me way in the back of the bus. He almost forgot I was back there as he delivered others and picked up others. I have learned to ride along and wait but this was a little bit of a LONG wait. I spoke up and the expression on his face told the whole story. So I was next to be let off at my complex. I was glad I was not in my 80’s and tired and left to sit there a long time.  It made me think though.  

The wheels on the bus go round and round…and I will take many more trips and learn all new things each time I go. Ready for my next adventure…I hope from the front of the bus.

dialbus

                                                          

 

 

 

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

One response »

  1. GREAT post! Glad you are able to go on “adventures” so often. Wish we could go on one together—maybe next summer or fall after Sean is settled in Great Lakes. I do plan on visiting him there, as he won’t be able to come home as often once he’s there. Enjoy your bus rides and not having the hassle of looking after or paying for owning a car! Keep calm and ride on!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

