UPSTAIRS…DOWNSTAIRS…

Standard

updownSINCE moving to my new place over a year ago, I have learned that there are truly two separate kinds of tenants..the upstairs people and the downstairs people. Some would LOVE to be living downstairs but can’t because there were no openings at the time they rented. SOME took upstairs apartments and have not been happy since. Some rented downstairs, for many reasons, but are not happy because of WHO is living above them. You just cannot win sometimes. 

Downstairs people seem to commiserate over the noise and the fact that someone is always walking over the top of them. Upstairs people complain that it is too hot “up here” and the tenant downstairs runs their heat high or tv too loud. It is always something. 

stair-clipart-STAIRSWhy can’t people just be tolerant of others? Who knows..but if I was not happy  I think I would just MOVE some place else. I would not sit and complain over every little thing. I hate packing and moving though..just hate it and would avoid it at all costs. I unpacked right away..when I got here. I don’t know where everything is exactly but I think I am getting a handle on it now. What brought this whole thought on was a person from another building who stopped me in the parking lot. She said “How are you doing with your new tenants? Mine are nice.” I said..”Fine..it is what it is, you get what you get.” “Well if they cause you any trouble, report them to the manager.” She has lived here a long time and I guess she has seen a lot of people move in and out. She knows what things occur. I say don’t look for trouble..just go with the flow until something happens. THAT is just what I am doing.

CAN you guess what I am an UPSTAIRS or DOWNSTAIRS person??? (some of you will know 😉 )

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

6 responses »

  1. It’s a solid truth that there are other people in this world who rub us the wrong way some times. Far better to be as civil as possible to avoid an escalation of things if possible.

  2. I hate apartment living and I am one of those who don’t need to be there if it can be avoided. I always got the stoppers and coat hanger droppers and loud music people.

  3. I loved this blog! Carol, I live on the 3rd floor of an old house…the attic in fact… but I have live on 1st & 2nd flrs in other apts…get it comin and goin, lol! I ‘ve never seen the point of complaining either…commiseration is something else again, though…I think you’re on the 2nd floor…or maybe the 1st…I have one set of outside strs to get into my apt..and 2nd set (very steep) to get to my main area…bathroom is to the left down that set of steep steps and adjacent to the 1st floor’s upstrs bdrms….can be uncomfortable at times, but mostly I’m just glad to hear other folks making noise…esp. in the winter when it gets dark so soon and evenings seem to go on forever! Good blog..Katie.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

